I wish I would have…

 

As I near my last days in college, I tend to reflect a lot on all the work I’ve done. I have my portfolio to show for it, which reminds me of just how much I have really learned. It’s fun to talk to seniors in high school about what they should and shouldn’t take as an incoming freshman in journalism. While writing is essential, there’s one aspect of the journalism production process that I regret not having enough of β€” and that’s design.

TAKE DESIGN FRESHMAN!!!!

This means:

  • Enroll in a graphic design class
  • Enroll in an Adobe InDesign/Photoshop class
  • Minor in graphic design

All of the above, I sincerely regret not doing in college. At my current marketing internship, I am required to design a decent amount of signage and marketing materials in Adobe. It’s been frustrating, to say the least, to experiment with design with absolutely no direction. I’m learning on my own, and I’m thankful for an opportunity to grow, but it would have been helpful to have more of a foundation. Working for the school newspaper, I’ve had some experience in InDesign with placing stories in the newspaper, insertingΒ headlines, that sort of thing β€” but not nearly enough.

So, I strongly urge you to take a look at your priorities. Google jobs you may want. Most of them want you to have Adobe Design experience. So take advantage of the awesome teachers at K-State! You won’t regret it, at least not nearly as much as I do.

 

Leave a Reply

