Prayer journal

Recently, I have discovered just how important prayer is in our walk with Christ. Certain things have been on my mind quite heavily but have simply stayed there. The switch from my brain to my heart I will admit, happens rarely. My prayer life has been a mess: praying only when I’m anxious, need something, or when it happens: I have a total ADHD moment and get distracted with all sorts of things not relevant to praying.
Since then, I’ve been brainstorming ways to be more intentional about my prayer life.

So what did I do?

I created a prayer journal! This prayer journal is set up to walk me through my daily time in God’s word and daily time in prayer as well.

Here, I will give you a brief tutorial on how this came to be.
All you really need is
1. a binder (I used a 1 inch)
2. Notebook dividers
3. Notebook paper
4. Pens

…..literally, that’s it.

The first thing that I did was put paper between all my dividers and label each divider. Below is a list of topics I used, but feel free to use your own!

  • Personal Evaluation
  • Bible Study
  • Scripture Study
  • Word study
  • Gratitude
  • Books
  • Resources
  • Archives
  • Daily
  • Sunday
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday

In the very front on my binder, I plan on writing a mission statement. I think that it’s important to have a goal so that you are reminded of what you are trying to fulfill.

Personal Evaluation
The first section of my notebook is Personal Evaluation. Each week, I will write down a short entry of where I am in my walk with the Lord. This isn’t to determine if I’m good enough, but to align my events and actions of the week with my mission statement.

Bible Study
This is the section of my journal where I am writing what I am learning in God’s word on the daily or weekly. Here I write what He’s revealing to me and teaching me through His Word.

Scripture Study
This section includes any scripture memory work that I want to work on. To be honest, this may be the hardest section for me to keep up with. Yet, below is a cool little resource that gives you 25 verses- one to memorize every other week. Write it down every day and study it for a week!

Verses to Know

Word Study
Each year I choose one word to focus on. For 2015 I am choosing GRACE. Therefore in this section, I will write out Bible verses on the topic of grace, books I plan to read on the topic, and thoughts on it as the Lord speaks to me.

Gratitude
Here I will record any answered prayers, things I am thankful for and give God some thanks before heading into my daily prayer.

Resources
This is simply a pocket to store any worksheets, printables, etc that I come across.

Archives
This basically means “old material.” Once a section begins to fill up, I will transfer it to this lovely section. Anytime, I can go back and reference it until I eventually store it away somewhere else.

Daily
This next section begins my daily prayer time. I pray daily for my immediate family and closest friends. I have a page for each of them with their names at the top, then list specific prayer requests below.

Weekly
After completing my daily prayers, I move into my weekly prayer list. This is a good way to write people down on a day of the week when you say you will be praying for them and don’t forget! Under each day, I put 2 people that I feel called to pray for. These may be long distance friends or just an aqaitance. Then, I assigned a subject to each day to pray for.

Here’s how I broke it down:

Sunday– 2 people, evangelism
Monday– 2 people, the church
Tuesday– extended family, sickness
Wednesday– 1 person, high school friends, missions/martyrs
Thursday– 1 person, unbelieving, sex slavery
Friday– 2 people, young people/our generation, Manhattan
Saturday– 2 people, government, news, social justice, peace for Jerusalem

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

And there it is!
I will be sure to update you on my progress. Usually, I don’t participate in self help activities (like New Years goals) because I typically disappoint myself. However, this is good motivation. The biggest thing is to not harp yourself if you miss a day. You can always double up or skip one. God isn’t concerned about that. He simply wants you to draw near to Him.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Leave a Reply

